Our Governance

Visit Danes Educational Trust

De Havilland Primary School is part of Danes Educational Trust. The Danes Educational Trust Board has responsibility for the operation of the Trust, but delegates some of the responsibilities to a local level. Therefore, schools within the Trust have a School Board, comprising local Governors. The School Board holds 4 meetings per year. In addition, each School Board has an Admissions Committee and a Senior Staff Pay and Remuneration Committee. De Havilland Primary School shares its School Board with Onslow St Audrey's Secondary School.

Further information about the Danes Educational Trust governance structure is available on the Trust website

To contact the Governors of De Havilland Primary School, please email


Catherine Rendell - Chair of Governors |  Jan Stevens - Vice Chair (Safeguarding & Attendance Lead)  |  Julie Jones - Headteacher at Onslow St Audrey's  |  Sarah King - Headteacher at De Havilland Primary School  |  Leonor Silva De Mattos - Parent Governor  |  Joe Cresswell - Staff Governor  |  Willow Humphreys - Governor.

Who we are

Joe cresswell

Joe Cresswell

Elected Staff Governor Joe began his teaching career as a Teaching Assistant at De Havilland School. After realising his great potential he completed his PGCE and returned to De Havilland a year later a fully qualified teacher. He is now in his 4th year of teaching and enjoys co-leading computing where he puts his film making, TV and Video degree to great use. 

Willow humphries

Willow Humphries

Trust Appointed Governor


Willow is our Trust appointed Governor. Willow is a local resident of Hatfield and was appointed as a governor in 2022. She is originally from Devon and studied Archaeology and Anthropology at Oxford University, before training as a teacher, working in the UK and New Zealand.  During her 10 year teaching career Willow taught science to KS4 and biology to A-level. She was a GCSE and A-Level examiner, as well as supervising Duke of Edinburgh expeditions, running a Combined Cadet Force platoon and other extra-curricular science activities. 

Willow worked in Academic Quality at the University of Hertfordshire for 8 years, before joining the charity sector to become Project Manager for Training & Development at Hertfordshire Community Foundation, where she organises professional development training programmes for the Voluntary, Community and Social Enterprise sector workforce in Hertfordshire.

Julie jones

Julie Jones

Headteacher (Onslow St Audrey's) Julie is the Headteacher of Onslow St Audrey's School.

Sarah king

Sarah King

Headteacher (De Havilland) Sarah is the Headteacher of De Havilland Primary. Previously a longstanding member of the Senior Leadership Team, Sarah specialises in the Early Years but has taught across Key Stage 1, 2 & 3. Sarah knew from a very early age that she only ever wanted to teach and her motivation for this continues to be – to make a positive difference to as many lives as she can. 

Catherine rendell

Cath Rendell

Chair of Governors

Catherine is our Chair of Governors. Catherine studied Law at Durham University. After working for the Law Commission on Family and Child Law, she embarked on a career in university legal education and training for law firms. She is a trained mediator. Catherine has wide experience of learning and teaching in Higher Education. She is currently a senior manager with responsibility for academic standards and quality at the University of Hertfordshire where she has a focus on prioritising diversity and inclusion and developing strategies to ensure the success of all students.

Leonor de silva mattos

Leonor Silva de Mattos

Elected Parent Governor

Leonor was appointed a parent governor in 2021. She is a principal lecturer at the University of Hertfordshire and leads the Supported Distance Learning (SDL) portfolio at the Hertfordshire Business School (undergraduate and postgraduate). She is also a member of the International advisory board for the largest European conference on education and New Learning Technologies, EDULEARN. Leonor works with a variety of stakeholders in the UK and overseas, actively fostering a global, intercultural, collaborative community that is student centric and inclusive. She is passionate about global classrooms, intercultural learning, collaborative teaching across cultures, student diversity and student experience.

Jan stevens

Jan Stevens

Vice Chair

Jan is the Vice Chair of the  school board and is the link governor for Safeguarding, attendance and for Children Looked After. Jan worked in education for over 30 years, starting work as a Biology teacher for the London Borough of Barnet.  Before retiring in 2020, she was the Deputy Head at a large secondary school in south west Hertfordshire and also served for one term as an interim Headteacher. Currently she works as a part time Professional Partner for Hertfordshire Virtual School which oversees the education of children in care.